Starting a Skin Care Routine

When I was young, I didn’t think I needed a skin care routine. I washed my face with soap. That’s it. Now that I’ve started my skin care routine though, people really noticed the difference (I honestly didn’t notice anything, haha). Through various YouTube tutorials, researching, googling, and asking around friends, here’s my Skin Care Routine.

1. Cleanse yo face

After a long day walking around, your skin is going to be full of yucky dirt particles that you can’t notice. Cleaning your face with any simple facial wash is important so you don’t get pimples, acne, blackheads, or whiteheads.

I just use Pond’s facial wash. More specifically, I use the pure white version (???). I like it because it’s advertised as cleaning out your pores if you live in an area that’s polluted. Manila is very very polluted so I feel like this was the best product to use.

ponds20pure20white20black-800x800

It’s up to you if you want to spend a lot facial wash, but honestly anything works. Your skin care routine can be customized to however you like. You can actually stop here and just let your face be, all clean and fresh.

2. Tone yo face

So what exactly is toner? I honestly have no idea (HAHAHA) but the way I explain it to my friends is this:

“You know how you think your face is clean after you use facial wash? Think again!”

The first time I tried using toner, so much dirt came off my face my cotton pad was really dark brown (!!!). So basically it’s kind of like a deeper cleaning material. I don’t know. I use VMV Hypoallergenic Toner – Combination type. It doesn’t have any allergens in it, which is good if your skin is pretty sensitive. It’s kind of expensive though, but there are other toners which are much cheaper on the market.

closeup_115b1c7310432820236cb55b5d922ecaf0581c38_1476347795_2354_vmvhypoallergenics_web

A bit of a warning though: toners can really dry your skin. So make sure you…

3. Moisturize!

Now this part is very very important. Even if you think you have oily skin, you should always moisturize. Cleansing and toning can really dry your skin, so moisturizing is a good idea. I think it’s pretty self explanatory. I use Benefit’s Triple Performing Facial Emulsion (it also has SPF in it, which is a very big plus!)

triple-performing-facial-emulsion-hero


So that’s my skin care routine. I do it every morning before I leave the house. I wash my face in the shower and do the rest after. It’s possible to add other stuff like serum, oils, eye cream, or whatever else, but normally I stick to this stuff.

I think skin care is important regardless of gender because it makes your skin feel so smooth and prevents your skin from getting any infections or acne on it. In the long run, it really helps especially when you’re older. Thanks for reading!

Note: The photos aren’t mine. Got them from their respective sites. 🙂

Leave a Reply

